We Four in Egypt

Now back in the US!

Best of 2008

My friend Jenni just wrote a nice post about her favorite moments from the past year, and I’m inspired to do the same.

Bug is napping, but I’m going to guess his favorite moment (the one that would come to mind, anyway) was opening the Batman motorcycle he asked about all fall and got from Santa for Christmas.

Giggle’s favorite moment from 2008:

  • Seeing Santa when he woke up on Christmas morning (he’s been talking about this for a week, and we haven’t questioned him further on the matter)

Mr. Four’s favorites:

  • Boating with the boys in the mountains this summer
  • Snorkeling with the boys in Dahab

My favorites (in chronological order):

Spring, in Egypt (mostly)

  • When we first joined our club last January, sitting outside in the evening, drinking tea or a beer, while the boys played on the playground, and feeling like I had a backyard again
  • Discovering Fagnoon
  • Our spring trip to Dahab, an amazing vacation that managed to include both lots of fun for the boys and lots of relaxation for Mr. Four and me
  • in dahab
    Bug and Giggle splash around in the kiddie pool at our favorite hotel in Dahab

  • My trip to gorgeous Croatia: walking the streets of old Dubrovnik and visiting with old friends
  • on the island of mljet
    Mljet, Croatia

  • A great visit from my cousin K in June
  • Sweet little Puppy Four
  • puppy four
    Puppy Four

In the US this summer

  • My first morning back in College Town in June, listening to NPR, reading the New York Times (in print!), and drinking tea while the boys played
  • Playing baseball with my dad, Bug, and Giggle in June
  • Swimming at the lake near College Town
  • The boys running hysterically into the house this summer to report “ghosts” outside, which were really fireflies
  • Later on, watching and catching fireflies with the boys, in College Town and the mountains
  • Eating my favorite cereal
  • Laughing hysterically while tubing with Mr. Four, Giggle, and Bug in July
  • My kids discovering the laundry chute at my mom’s house

Fall, back in Egypt (mostly)

  • The Africa Reading Challenge
  • Giggle’s school
  • A few hours at Hamley’s toy store in London
  • Spamalot (also in London)
  • Snorkeling with the boys in Dahab
  • Giggle deciding it was time to re-learn Amharic
  • Bug and Giggle talking to my dad and stepmom on Thanksgiving
  • Ethiopia: time with Bug, the rock hewn churches, hippos, and Bug learning how cool it is to be Ethiopian
  • A wonderful Christmas day, including a nice chat with my mom
  • Listening to my nephew play his new accordion via Skype
1 January 2009 - Posted by | bug, ethiopia, expat scene, family, food, fun, giggle, holidays, home, pets, school

5 Comments

  1. I have always, always been drawn to Egypt. I wish you and your beautiful family much health and happiness in the New Year!

    Comment by Yoli | 1 January 2009

  2. […] best of 2008 Bug was napping when I compiled my best of 2008 list. I asked him, later, about his favorite memories of the year. This is what he told […]

    Pingback by Bug’s best of 2008 « We Four in Egypt | 3 January 2009

  3. All beautiful! So; what IS your favorite cereal?

    Comment by Jennifer | 3 January 2009

  4. Thanks, Yoli! You too Jennifer!

    My favorite cereal is Kashi Go Lean Crunch.

    Comment by Ms. Four | 4 January 2009

  5. Hey, I made the list! That trip DEFINITELY made my list, and not just the one for 2008, but all time!!! Hugs for all the Fours and a Happy Joyous New Year!

    Comment by K | 11 January 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

