We Four in Egypt

Now back in the US!

The intertubes are jammed

Last February, quite mysteriously, three different internet cables under the Mediterranean Sea, from Egypt to Europe, were damaged within a few days of each other. Apparently a huge percentage of Egypt’s internet services went through those cables (I’m remembering something like 90%). We had crawling internet for days and slow internet for three or four weeks. Ripples were felt throughout Africa and into other parts of the Middle East and Asia.

It seems the same thing has happened again: three internet cables have been damaged or cut. In the same place, apparently. I’d tell you more about it, but I can’t read the news!

But it’s mighty suspicious, don’t you think?

Anyway, it took quite a few hours on Friday before we figured out the problem wasn’t just our internet connection. I was able to get online early Saturday morning around 1-2am (Bug woke me up for some water and I couldn’t get back to sleep), and now I’m back online again, on Sunday at 3am (Bug woke me up because he was hungry, and I couldn’t get back to sleep).

This means I will probably not be batch-posting any photos Ethiopia. But I also know most folks are traveling or hanging out with family and not necessarily sitting around waiting for a trip report.

In the meantime, I have one more day of work (which may well be a waste without any internet) and then most of two weeks home with the boys.

They are very excited about Santa. Our little Charlie Brown tree is looking particularly fancy this year with all sorts of school-made decorations.

In any case, have a great holiday! And check back once in a while for some photos.

21 December 2008 - Posted by | bug, ethiopia, holidays, this blog

2 Comments

  1. I want the internet back! To me what we have now is what i had in Kenya – only better. Last night i tried to stream a 3 minute video and it took almost 45 minutes to load. *sigh*

    Comment by Typ0 | 21 December 2008

  2. Okay, so I learn from your blog what was up with my internet connection–thank you!

    I agree with you re: Christmas here. We were remarking the other night that we don’t have a single last minute Christmas party to attend, and I’m kind of liking the novelty of it. DH is feeling a bit more social than I, but he’s okay with it. I think mostly I’m liking not feeling like I need to put on my own holiday production, as I usually have over the years. No pressure–books, movies, cookies, playtime. Nice.

    Comment by J | 21 December 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

