We Four in Egypt

Now back in the US!

Blog Type

So you know the Myers-Briggs personality tests? Now you can run your blog through the Typealyzer, a program that (allegedly) analyzes it according to the same criteria. (Thanks to Trey at Daddy, Papa, and Me for the scoop.)

In real life, when I’ve taken this test (in high school, so that’d be a shocking 20 years ago, and once again at work about ten years ago), I’ve come out as INFP bordering on ENFP.

But this blog? ESFP — Performers! Here’s what the Performers says about me via my blog:

The entertaining and friendly type. They are especially attuned to pleasure and beauty and like to fill their surroundings with soft fabrics, bright colors and sweet smells. They live in the present moment and don´t like to plan ahead – they are always in risk of exhausting themselves.

The enjoy work that makes them able to help other people in a concrete and visible way. They tend to avoid conflicts and rarely initiate confrontation – qualities that can make it hard for them in management positions.

So some of this is pretty darn wrong. Entertaining and friendly type? I’d like to be friendly, but in real life I can be a bit reserved (which can come off as aloof) when I first meet people (unless it’s in a professional situation and I’m presenting, in which case I can perform right from the start – go figure). This is in marked contrast to Mr. Four, aka Mr. Super Friendly Man.

Attuned to pleasure and beauty? Eh, maybe, but I’m not seeing it as I look at my very ugly couches. Of course, maybe the reason I find them so ugly is because I’m so attuned to pleasure and beauty. I do like to have NPR droning in the background via iTunes while I work, and I do appreciate dark chocolate. Ah, the pleasure.

Living in the present moment is probably me too, though it’s at conflict with my inner organizer. Mr. Four can attest to the fact that pretty much when I make a decision, I am ready to implement it NOW. And I do exhaust myself staying up too late online, organizing furniture, writing this blog, etc. Silly but apparently Who I Am.

Moving on: indeed I like to help people in real and concrete ways, which sorta manifests itself in the work that I do but is probably better reflected in other parts of my life.

And regarding conflict avoidance: heh, yeah, that too, but stuffed deep inside is the arguing-streak, at least in regards to non-personal issues. There’s a conflict, eh?

But of course the persona of “Ms Four,” ie who I am on this blog, is not The Real Me. Pretty close, of course, but I tend not to blog about the really deep and heartfelt stuff. It’s just too personal for public consumption.

But, really, is there anyone who blogs who isn’t A Performer in some ways? Ponder that, folks.

21 November 2008 - Posted by | this blog

2 Comments

  1. That’s a fun test! My blog is ESTP, the Doers! (I’m usually ENFP too.) Here’s the description:
    The active and play-ful type. They are especially attuned to people and things around them and often full of energy, talking, joking and engaging in physical out-door activities.

    The Doers are happiest with action-filled work which craves their full attention and focus. They might be very impulsive and more keen on starting something new than following it through. They might have a problem with sitting still or remaining inactive for any period of time.

    Accurate? I hate outdoor activities, unless it’s sitting on a beach reading. I also like sitting still, especially when I’m sitting on a couch reading. I mean, my blog is all about the books I read! Haha.

    Comment by Alicia | 21 November 2008

  2. I’m also a performer. And my biggest problem is the whole “not a planner thing.” In fact, Hubby had quite teh chuckle at the thought too. I plan things out days, weeks, even months in advance. I need a plan. Plans are what make things orderly and workable! 🙂

    Not that i’m an anal-retentive, OCD type or anything. *innocent*

    Comment by Typ0 | 21 November 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

