We Four in Egypt

Now back in the US!

Last November (11/20)

So, you know that novel-ish thing I wrote last November? This summer, I re-read a few chunks of it. Uck! Ugh! Blech!

In the past, when I’ve re-read old college and academic papers, I’ve often been pleasantly surprised. “Hey,” I’d think, “this doesn’t totally suck!”

Sadly, that was not my experience reading the novel. Total escapist drivel. I couldn’t even read parts of it. Too painful (not emotionally, but as a reader!). Of course, last November I was pounding out words and paragraphs without too much regard for quality. One of the rules of NaNoWriMo is Never Delete! Which I did not, even when I realized I’d written myself into a corner and had to backtrack.

I found a couple of paragraphs that seemed to capture some details of what I wanted to do. So, maybe two paragraphs out of 50,000 words don’t totally suck.

Of course, this novel served an important purpose: last November, I was just starting to experience real frustrations being in Cairo, and writing was a distraction from that. It was also great to have a goal and carry through with it, which I do professionally but rarely with personal goals for things like writing. (Okay, I pulled off extensive paperwork for two international adoptions, but creative endeavors typically receive much lower priority for me.)

I also got novel writing out of my system.

Would I do NaNoWriMo again? Absolutely. When Mr. Four has the job that brings us to some wonderful place where I can spend November in my jammies, typing away, while he works.

So, to re-phrase that: will I ever do NaNoWriMo again?

Probably not.

20 November 2008 - Posted by | books, our life in egypt

3 Comments

  1. Would you do NaBloPoMo again? Or will that require distance?

    I think its great that you not only attempted it but completed NaNoWriMo! You set a substantial goal for yourself and accomplished it. I know i could never do that – i’d totally give up half way through assuming i even made it that far.

    2 paragraphs sounds like a success to me. 🙂

    Comment by Typ0 | 20 November 2008

  2. I would certainly do NaBloPoMo again. It just hasn’t been all that difficult for me, probably because until today’s post I’ve always written posts the night before. I may come to hate by month’s end though!

    Comment by Ms. Four | 20 November 2008

  3. I am most definitely *not* a writer. Whenever I try to write, it comes out sounding way too contrived. Anyway, years ago, a friend of mine introduced me to the website http://www.100words.com

    The idea is that you write 100 words (no more and no less) every day for a month. At the end of the month, each “batch” of entries is published on the site for all to read.

    I finally committed to doing this, and actually had a lot of fun with it. I found the constraint of 100 words to be helpful, and I really liked the creative outlet. Plus, I felt like I had accomplished something at the end of the month!

    Anyway, just wanted to pass along that link in case you’re ever interested in trying it.

    Comment by jayme | 25 November 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

