We Four in Egypt

Now back in the US!

In which I talk about my job without talking about my job

Well, I asked for your questions. Now I gotta answer them.

I’ll start with an easy one. Libby asked,

I’d like to hear a little more about your job–how it’s similar to/different from your old US job.

I won’t talk in specifics here, because I like to pretend I’m anonymous in my pseudonymity. But I will say that my job here is remarkably similar to my job in the US. My job duties are slightly different, but that’s because of the job, not Egypt. There are some cultural differences which I’m not sure I can explain and maintain my faux-anonymity. But, really, it’s pretty much the same.

One thing that is interesting is the expat/Egyptian divide at work. Even though most of the higher ranked people are expats, often Egyptians can get things done more easily. Just recently, an American colleague and I had the same concern about a work logistic for weeks. Then an Egyptian colleague had the same problem. Presto! Problem was solved immediately.

Libby, that probably doesn’t answer your question. You can email me for the boring details if you’d like.

TypO asked a slew of questions (which is what I get for going to her blog and asking her to ask me questions). I’ll answer them one at a time.

What did you want to be when you were growing up?

I was pretty fickle as a kid, but for a long time I wanted to be a veterinarian. Also a poet. I went through a phase where I wanted to be president. In high school for a bit I wanted to be a journalist.

I just asked this question of Giggle the other day. He said that when he grows up, he’d like to be a power ranger.

18 November 2008 - Posted by | giggle, our life in egypt

1 Comment

  1. Which colour power ranger does he want to be? LOL I remember when the PR first became popular back in the states. Are the special effects still super cheesy?

    I have long found that local staff always have an easier time getting things accomplished. Whether its a pay raise (in kenya the locals got their 3-4 months before the expats), or simply having the ac fixed at the offices of the charity i worked at.

    Comment by Typ0 | 18 November 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

