We Four in Egypt

Now back in the US!

A wee bit homesick (11/13)

Here are some things I am missing:

  • Fall colors
  • Jumping into piles of leaves with my kids
  • The start of college basketball season
  • Chai tea
  • My dad
  • Rain
  • Trail running
  • Jon Stewart and Stephen Colbert
  • Going to movies
  • Microbrews
  • Sidewalks
  • Bike rides
  • My US friends
  • The mountains
  • Whitewater
  • Woods
  • Ordering stuff online
  • Mexican food

Coming up tomorrow: what I don’t miss! Stay tuned…

13 November 2008 - Posted by | family, home

6 Comments

  1. We get Stewart and Colbert on ShowComedy and its only one day late. ๐Ÿ™‚ If you don’t have cable you’re more than welcome to come over and soak in the tv-goodness. ๐Ÿ™‚ And you can get really bad mexican food at City Stars. That’s where Hubby and i went last weekend for lunch. Or you can make some: fajitas, salsa, and guac are all doable here. (That was the week before last! LOL) ๐Ÿ™‚

    Sidewalks are for conformists! :p See, we can make you feel more at home with only a modicum of effort! ๐Ÿ™‚

    (I feel you on the ordering online tho. I want my books and purse! *pout*)

    Comment by Typ0 | 13 November 2008

  2. Aw, thanks Typ0! We do have satellite, but it’s Orbit, so no Colbert or Stewart… and yeah, we could go to City Stars, but an hour in the car, plus 40LE each way, is an awful lot for only okay Mexican.

    I’m just determined to be homesick! Thanks for trying, though. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Comment by Ms. Four | 13 November 2008

  3. We get our Daily Show and Colbert Report fix on-line. You should be able to get them on http://www.thedailyshow.com. They’re rebroadcast about 1 day late.

    Also watch 1-day late versions of MSNBC’s Countdown with Keith Olberman and The Rachel Maddow Show on-line.

    Comment by Juju | 15 November 2008

  4. Juju, yeah, I do sometimes watch Daily Show shows online… but often our bandwidth just isn’t up to it. Late at night, if I can’t sleep, is the best time.

    I have a friend here who buys the shows on iTunes. She downloads them at night when there’s more bandwidth, and then watches them the next day.

    Comment by Ms. Four | 16 November 2008

  5. You can order online in Egypt, I do it all the time, go to: http://www.otlob.com every restaurant in Egypt is there!!!!

    Also Pizza Hut have their own ordering hub :
    http://www.pizzahut.com.eg/

    Enjoy!!

    Comment by Moustafa Ezz | 19 November 2008

  6. Moustafa, you are so right! TypO and I are talking about ordering stuff like clothes and books online, though, and then having it shipped through the mail. You know, spoiled North American stuff.

    Comment by Ms. Four | 19 November 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

