We Four in Egypt

Now back in the US!

So maybe not the whole world (11/8)

Yesterday I blogged about the positive reactions I had seen here in Egypt to the news of Obama’s election. I forgot to mention the taxi driver wearing an Obama/Biden pin. And then later I read this AP article on MSNBC about local opinion here in Cairo.

But not everyone is so excited. First off, I got a very nasty comment on my Election Day post. Don’t look for it; I deleted it. It included the n-bomb. Well, apparently this fellow was so angry he scribbled the same nastiness on expat blogs all around Cairo. If you’re so included (and you’ve been warned), check out the comments on this post at Lulu’s Bay, the only one I know who left it standing.

Also, another fellow who blogs at the Arabic Media Shack, thinks the average Egyptian is far less interested in this election than the American media has portrayed. I agree with him that we Americans can be arrogant and self-centered, and I agree with his point about Egyptian racism (which I’ve blogged about before), but I do think the incredible hatred here for the war in Iraq and George W. has some people more interested than you might expect.

If any Egyptians, or expats in Egypt, want to chime in, I’d be very interested to hear your thoughts on this.

8 November 2008 - Posted by | in the news

7 Comments

  1. I received two of his comments on my blog and deleted them both after quite a bit of internal debate. I refuse to believe that the person who left those comments represents the average Egyptian.

    I’m not sure about people here not being interested in the election. Since i appear to be American people came up to me in the last few weeks cheering on Obama, urging me to vote for him. On Wednesday people went up to my friends as they walked down teh street and said, “Congratulations Obama!”

    Comment by Typ0 | 8 November 2008

  2. That is funny, I am in America and I do not give a damn about the new President Elect. My boss is here comes the new boss, same as the old boss. Does that make me Egyptian or American?

    Comment by alharaka | 8 November 2008

  3. Is this hypothetical? Of course this doesn’t make you anything. No one is suggesting that caring makes you American. Though, some might argue that not caring about your government’s leader is a very Egyptian thing to do, a survival strategy of sorts.

    I also think the notion that Bush, McCain, and Obama are all the same could only be made by someone who doesn’t really understand US politics.

    I heard from yet another random Egyptian today, a clerk in a retail store, about how much he likes Obama. This when he found out we were Americans (he asked; I do not volunteer this information). He told us all about how he didn’t like Hillary and did like Obama.

    Comment by Ms. Four | 8 November 2008

  4. Goodness me.. you have suddenly driven my stats through the roof! LOL
    I am not at all sure I should have left it there – but the art of ‘terrorism’ is to terrorise… and I will not be terrorised.

    (particularly by ill-educated, rasicts)

    Comment by Lynda | 9 November 2008

  5. Lynda, heh, sorry about driving traffic to your site for the purposes of reading nastiness! (Let me know if you want me to remove the link.)

    Comment by Ms. Four | 9 November 2008

  6. Nah… its great!!! Hahaha

    Comment by Lynda | 9 November 2008

  7. I got one too, and mainly deleted it because the language was offensive; something I can’t stand. I believe in everyone’s right to express their own opinion, but it won’t happen on my blog if the language is inappropriate.

    Comment by Jennifer | 9 November 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

