We Four in Egypt

Now back in the US!

The whole world was watching (11/7)

The polls in the US started closing at about 1am Wednesday, Cairo time. Despite my plans to nap for a few hours before the results came in, I stayed up (predictably enough, really). I had my tea and jammies and laptop and TV, and kept up with conversations via Facebook and Twitter.

I fell asleep at about 3am, only to wake up at 6am, with Bug peering into my face and wondering why I was on the couch. I looked at the TV to see CNN calling the race for Obama. Kurt and Giggle were up soon after, and we all watched that incredible speech. The boys were prancing around the room, but I insisted they listen. I went into mother mode and said, “You’re going to ask me about this someday!”

Giggle did watch for a bit and then informed me, regarding the President-Elect, “He’s a good thinker.”

Late Wednesday morning, I stumbled sleepily but happily into the train station in Cairo as I awaited my train to Alexandria for an overnight business trip. I had a few minutes, so I sat down in a cafe where a flat screen TV was blaring an Egyptian news channel. The news? Obama. I positioned myself to watch the TV, even though I couldn’t follow the newscast, but just to soak in more of the images beaming all over the world from the United States. For about the 100th time that day, I got a little choked up.

One of the waiters noticed I was watching TV. “American?” he asked me. “Aiwa” (“yes”), I responded. He smiled, said “Barack Obama,” and gave me a thumbs up.

And that pretty much summarizes the mood here in Egypt.

7 November 2008 - Posted by | in the news

3 Comments

  1. You should read Judith Warner’s op ed piece in the NY Times today. Brilliant. http://warner.blogs.nytimes.com/2008/11/06/title/?em

    Comment by Gretchen | 7 November 2008

  2. “Rosa sat so Martin could march. Martin marched so Obama could run. Obama ran so our children could fly.”

    Comment by Yoli | 8 November 2008

  3. I was in an airport today, in a Southern state. Walking past the newsstand, I saw a little African American girl, maybe six years old, catch sight of all the magazine covers with pictures of the president-elect, and she cried out, “Mama! Mama! Look! Barack Obama!” It was a lovely moment. She had the same excitement as if she’d seen, say, Miley Cyrus or one of the kids from High School Musical. But this was so much better, because he can actually change her world.

    Comment by Monica | 8 November 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

