We Four in Egypt

Now back in the US!

Trip of a lifetime

All that Kenya and Tanzania talk inspired us. But a vacation like that is too expensive and too complicated to plan on short notice.

I do have six weeks off in the summer for home leave. And I will have a pile of money from my employer to pay for that home leave. And there are no rules that say we must actually go home on home leave.

You see where this is going, don’t you?

Mr. Four and I have decided, tentatively, to spend about six weeks next summer traveling around East Africa, probably Kenya, Tanzania, and Uganda or Rwanda. With the boys, of course.

This gives us enough time to actually figure out what we want to do and where we want to go, and to save some money to supplement our home leave funds. And then take the trip of a lifetime.

I’m so pleased that Mr. Four finds all of this as exciting as I do. Hurray!

12 October 2008 - Posted by | holidays, tourism

8 Comments

  1. That sounds like a fabulous vacation!! I’m officially jealous. 🙂 So where will you go during the Christmas holidays? Or will you stay close to home and invest in travel books? 🙂

    Comment by Typ0 | 12 October 2008

  2. Definitely go to Rwanda. Its one of my favorite places in all my Africa travel. The gorilla’s are well worth the trip, and kigali is clean and nice with wonderful people. Also, don’t forget Zanzibar when you are in Tanzania – though I’ve not been, all my Africa-traveling co-workers agree its the top of the list.

    Comment by Dave | 12 October 2008

  3. OOOH, I’m so jealous!! What a wonderful trip that will be!

    Comment by Dani | 12 October 2008

  4. I am here with insomnia and paying you a visit. Girl what a wonderful thing you have planned!!!! I would LOVE to go to Africa which I adore. Heck I would love to be in Egypt.

    Comment by Yoli | 13 October 2008

  5. TypO, we don’t have firm plans yet for the holidays. Bug and I might still go to Ethiopia. Mr. Four and Giggle might go desert camping. Or we might all do something different. We’ll see.

    Dave, Rwanda is sounding better and better. And Zanzibar is definitely on my list as well.

    Comment by Ms. Four | 13 October 2008

  6. I hope that one day I’ll have a “pile of money”! hehe
    Have fun, Four! 🙂

    Comment by Karen | 14 October 2008

  7. so envious of your trip. This is why living in europe (or in africa, obviously!) makes things so much easier in regard to travel. Cannot wait to hear how your plans unfold.

    Comment by Sarah Ryan | 17 October 2008

  8. […] ahead to summer Despite grand plans to take the trip of a lifetime through East Africa this summer, it looks like we’ll be heading to the US for the summer–and then back to […]

    Pingback by Looking ahead to summer « We Four in Egypt | 23 March 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

