We Four in Egypt

Now back in the US!

Ramadahab

Folks, I don’t get out much. I know, I know: I usually seem so cosmopolitan!

Truth is, I go to work, sometimes take the boys to school, go to the pool on the weekends… but that’s pretty much it. I don’t even get to the further-flung supermarkets, accessible only via taxi and planning, instead preferring the convenience of the place around the corner. And we certainly don’t spend every weekend at the Pyramids.

If you live anywhere long enough, life becomes normal. Even in Egypt.

But I was reminded of my own special dullness tonight when, unlike most evenings, I was actually out at night. I took Puppy Four back to the vet. This dog now freaks out when he gets out of the taxi at the vet’s office. Makes for a fun evening. Anyway, his brain is definitely scrambled, even though he’s sweet most of the time at home. I had a good cry over the whole thing last week, but tonight the vet suggested we wait a few more weeks before we make any decisions. The vet says he’ll never really be normal, but that doesn’t mean he can’t have a happy, seizure-free life. So we’ll see.

Anyway, I had to go pick up more meds (this time, a steroid) for the pup, as well as a few things we need for our vacation. So I found myself at the local shopping center. It’s not the giant western mall, but one serving pretty much just my corner of Cairo.

And it was bustling. At 9:30pm. When usually I am home and, if not asleep, pretty close. And not thinking at all about going out.

Ramadan ends tomorrow night, and the holiday Eid el Fitr begins. Egyptians usually celebrate Eid el Fitr as a family, and they buy new clothes for their kids. So there were tons of families out tonight, choosing their Eid outfits.

It was great fun to wander around the shopping center spying on people. I was one of the few westerners there, so maybe they thought they were spying on me. The mood was festive, and it inspired me to do some of my own shopping. I got some very cute red shoes, locally made and pretty cheap, so we’ll have to see if they last. Plus I bought some sand toys and a jump rope for the boys.

Tonight made me wish I was out and about in the evenings more often. Maybe it’s the weather, but even when it’s not Ramadan, Egyptians really are night people.

I am also a night person. Which is why I’m awake and blogging at 11:30 when we’re leaving tomorrow on vacation and I have tons of things to do.

So, yeah, that vacation. We’re going to Dahab again. I blogged quite a bit about our April trip there. We had an amazing time, enough fun to make us want to go back. Mr. Four will dive a couple of days, and we’ll all snorkel in the sea, swim in the pool, and walk the Corniche. It’s super relaxing.

The shopping spirit was with me earlier today, when I indulged in new paperbacks, which I rarely do. So David Sedaris and Sarah Watters will be joining me in Dahab.

Plus we have a whole week! Eid last a few days, and early next week there’s an Egyptian national holiday… the timing is perfect.

It’s been a quiet month for me on the blog, and this week will be doubly so. Eid Mubarak!

29 September 2008 - Posted by | books, family, fun, holidays, shopping, tourism

5 Comments

  1. It’s such a thrill to be out at night now for me too, and I’m a night owl, so I’m up. With little kids though, home for dinner bath and bed seems most prudent, so evenings out, even to grab a quart of milk, are a rare and lovely flower.

    Have a great vacation!

    Comment by ethiopianorphanrelief | 30 September 2008

  2. um, that was me, using the wrong log in!

    Comment by paige | 30 September 2008

  3. Hi, I’m Greta from Belgium living in Nuweiba. I stay here for about 15 years, in this small bedouin fisherman village called Mezzina.We build up a poject for sustainable development called Ghannah Lodge. We offer rooms and a very good service to our gast and in the Lodge we provide school to the bedouin children and handcraft work for the women. It’s off course nothing to compare with Dahab but it can be a very nice experience for expats with there children and in the same time support the project. Here you can sleep under the stars, enjoying very frsh food and all this only a few staps away from the sea.
    We would like to get in touch with expats in Egypt to build up a network to organise hollidays, deserttrips and workshops ( yoga, meditation, sound healing etc…) do you think this can work out. Anyway you will always be welcome here and I hope we can stay in touch. Enjoy your holliday in Dahab.
    Best Regards
    Greta

    Comment by greta | 30 September 2008

  4. I remember Ramadan and Eid on the coast of Kenya as bringing on lots of extra night-time activities. Everybody’s mood improved dramatically after eating, for one thing. It was really festive and fun.

    Have a great time in Dahab. Love to all the fellas.

    Comment by Monica | 30 September 2008

  5. I just came across your blog and I am enjoying it so much. It feels great to connect with people from all over the world.

    Comment by Yoli | 4 October 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

