We Four in Egypt

Now back in the US!

Harassment in Egypt

The BBC is featuring several Egyptian women talking about the harassment they experience in Egypt.

(Hat tip to Whazzup Egypt.)

A few quotes from these women, some of whom are covered:

I get harassed every day, although I am always carrying my baby. I thought being a mother would make me immune to harassment, but it made it even worse.

I get harassed 100 times a day. I tried everything to stop it but it doesn’t stop. I wear loose clothes, I don’t wear make up, I spend more than an hour in front of the mirror everyday thinking of ways to hide my body.

I get harassed everyday, during the five minutes I walk from my house to the main street to take the school bus.

I get harassed whenever I walk down the street; even during the seconds I cross the street to take my car.

Mother, daughter, old, young, covered, uncovered. It matters not.

6 September 2008 - Posted by | in the news

3 Comments

  1. This problem will only be solved once ‘women’ start to educate their sons… all of this is ‘learnt’ behaviour. I have lived in other Islamic countries where this does not happen – Egypt is quite unpleasant for young girls. Quite happy that I am a bit older and get left alone most of the time.

    Comment by lynda | 7 September 2008

  2. I can’t wait until i speak enough Arabic so that i can not only understand what is being said to but so i can turn around and tell them off. I must echo Lynda in saying that i have not had this problem in other Islamic countries i have visited.

    Comment by Typ0 | 7 September 2008

  3. TypO, a friend of mine, also an American expat but who is fluent in Arabic, says sometimes it’s better not to know!

    I don’t think this is Islam. This is Egypt.

    Comment by Ms. Four | 8 September 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

