We Four in Egypt

Now back in the US!

Back in the USA

Phew. What a week it’s been. I am not going to write any more about the flights over as they are best left repressed deep within my brain.

Mr. Four arrived late last Friday night. Between our arrival and his, the boys and I did a lot. It was pretty crazy. We went shopping (Old Navy, Target, and Kohl’s, along with a dollar store and a funky local toy store), swam at the lake, swam at the pool, played baseball in the yard, hung out with my dad, celebrated my birthday, went to a great science museum, bought toys, attempted to eat out in restaurants, went to a movie, stocked up on College Town paraphenalia, chased fireflies, played with friends, visited with other friends, and ate pretzels and ice cream (though not at the same time).

Since Mr. Four’s arrival, we’ve done more of the same, but with a break here and there for me.

A couple of friends here have asked us how it feels to be back. The answer is that it feels totally normal to be back. Totally normal to be able to call my mom and dad and sister without advance planning or a check of the clock. Totally normal to walk on nice wide sidewalks. Totally normal to be able to buy soy products at the grocery store. Totally normal to have play dates with our old neighbors. Et cetera.

Of course what’s not normal is trying to cram a month’s worth of activities into a week’s time. Right now we’re in College Town, a charming area with lots of old friends and kid-friendly activities. In a few days, we head to the mountains, to a small cabin Mr. Four built there years ago. We have a lot of friends up there, including friends with kids, but we’ll be much more isolated. Mr. Four is envisioning canoeing on the lake with the boys. I hope we find enough to do. Giggle and Bug are both pretty interested in bugs these days, so maybe we can go bug hunting. Other ideas are also welcome!

What’s been most striking about our trip home is how much my kids had become city kids. Especially for the first few days, things that seemed utterly ordinary to me were quite remarkable to them. When we pulled into the driveway of the house where we’re staying, Giggle said the front yard, with a few trees, was like a forest. Every patch of trees became worthy of comment.

The next night they ran inside, terrified, screaming at me about some strange flashing lights which turned out to be fireflies (they got over this fear quickly).

They’ve loved seeing mailboxes and checking ours multiple times a day. Fire hydrants also earn a call out.

It’s been a bit rainy here, and Bug is particularly stressed by thunder. This was true last year when we lived in the US, but the absence of thunder from our lives has only increased his fear. I’ve never seen him so terrified. Any plane in the sky has him asking if it’s thunder. Suggestions for dealing with this particular fear are also welcome.

We’ll be mostly unplugged, I think, in the mountains. We have a TV there (our cabin is set up to be a vacation rental when we’re not in it), but no internet access except the public library. I’m looking forward to some long bike rides, now possible as Mr. Four was able to dig my road bike out of storage this morning, and lots of reading. Another big treat for me has been buying the Sunday New York Times, even though it took me all of last week to read it, and I still haven’t cracked this week’s.

I’ll post again before we head to the mountains. What are your questions about our time back in the States?

30 June 2008 - Posted by | bug, family, fun, giggle, holidays, tourism

4 Comments

  1. Sounds like you’re having a good time. It’s interesting to hear the kids’ reactions to things. I know when we go back home the boys can just wander around in the forest for hours looking at things, touching, listening, collecting frogs, bugs, berries, mushrooms, whatever they find. I wouldn’t worry about activities; where there is nature, there’ll be fun for the boys!

    Comment by Jennifer | 1 July 2008

  2. I’m always pleasantly surprised by how easy it is to entertain ourselves when we go camping — I don’t think you’ll have any problems keeping busy in the mountains! Get a couple of kids’ bug books, and each day they can look for a certain bug. They make those little “bug collector” things, which are basically plastic boxes with little nets. That’s tons of fun. You could do the same with flowers and trees.

    Maybe get a small kids pool and some toys? Do you have a hose and a sprinkler? Lots of picnics and walks in the woods.

    I’m jealous! I’m sure you’ll have tons of fun.

    Comment by Your sister | 1 July 2008

  3. Oh I agree with my daughter #1. Can’t wait to see the boys and spend time in the woods and play along side the river. They’ll love it!

    Comment by mom | 1 July 2008

  4. […] Good kids and green grass My long-time readers may recall vague references to my flight from Cairo to JFK last summer, a flight so terrible I actually decided not to blog about so as not to think about it anymore. […]

    Pingback by Good kids and green grass « We Four in Egypt | 14 June 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

