We Four in Egypt

Now back in the US!

(Almost) on our way!

My cousin K is back from Luxor and Aswan and her cruise. She found some good folks on the boat and had a great time.

I’m just about packed. Mr. Four is working tonight, and the boys and I are headed out to a movie… then Saturday morning we leave for the airport. At this point I’m so excited my stomach is getting twisty. In a good way.

I’m so very fortunate to have some lovely people as friends, folks who are willing to buy us groceries in advance of our arrival, pick us up at the airport, and drive us around town until we get our own rental on Sunday. I’m looking forward to see them and everyone else.

So I’ll be offline for a few days, and (inshallah) will next post stateside. (And about that inshallah thing… after several months in Egypt, I feel like if I don’t say it, I’m tempting fate! Which I’m not inclined to do hours before boarding a transatlantic flight.)

20 June 2008 - Posted by | getting there, transportation

4 Comments

  1. Wishing you all a safe and easy flight!

    Comment by mom | 20 June 2008

  2. We’ll be thinking of you – I hope the flying goes well (Personally, I always bring candy on a trip – and sometimes I’ll even share with the boys!) Have a great trip!

    Comment by Jennifer | 21 June 2008

  3. RE: “Insha’allah” . . . I have to stop myself around my non-Egyptian friends here when I get back from a trip to Egypt . . . . It just seems to fit so many things, but they all look at me like “what???” whenever I use it.

    PS Always enjoy reading someone’s blog about their life in Egypt . . . particularly the Americans, lol, because our view on things sometimes is a teeny bit different than say the ppl from the UK that I chat with and have met up with in Cairo.

    Comment by Catherine | 1 July 2008

  4. We had a sweet Belgian couple as neighbors in Cairo, and one time they were asking about something and I -the Egyptian- said “Yeah, God willing”… and they responded “Inshallah!” 🙂 So looks like it really is catchy…

    Comment by TareX | 7 July 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

