We Four in Egypt

Now back in the US!

Africa Reading Challenge update

When I started the Africa Reading Challenge, this was my draft list of books to read:

  • Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (Nigeria)
  • Held at a Distance: A Rediscovery of Ethiopia by Rebecca G. Haile (Ethiopia)
  • The Cairo Trilogy by Naguib Mahfouz (Egypt)
  • Long Walk to Freedom: The Autobiography of Nelson Mandela (South Africa)
  • Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight: An African Childhood by Alexandra Fuller (Rhodesia/Zimbabwe)
  • Butterfly Burning by Yvonne Vera (Zimbabwe)
  • Measuring Time or Waiting for an Angel by Helon Habila (Nigeria)

Ha! I laugh at myself. There’s no way I’m reading that much Mahfouz. Here’s my current list, with two down and three to go:

  • Mating by Norman Rush (Botswana) done!
  • Waiting for an Angel by Helon Habila (Nigeria) done!
  • Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (Nigeria) on my shelf
  • Long Walk to Freedom: The Autobiography of Nelson Mandela (South Africa) to be obtained
  • Another book TBD (I have lots of my shelf but I’m not sure yet which I’ll end up reading)

So, that’s the update.

14 June 2008 - Posted by | africa, books

5 Comments

  1. Oh, definitely try to get to Held at a Distance… I really enjoyed it. It’s a bit of a glimpse of what it might be like for our kids going back to Ethiopia.

    Comment by June | 14 June 2008

  2. June, yeah, it’s still on my list, but I don’t know how soon I can find it. Maybe in the States this summer… have you read My Father’s Daughter by Hannah Poole, an Eritrean woman? She was adopted as a young girl and then went back to visit Eritrea as an adult.

    Comment by Ms. Four | 15 June 2008

  3. What did you think of Mating?

    Comment by Monica | 16 June 2008

  4. Monica, I have a whole post coming about it. But I loved it.

    Comment by Ms. Four | 16 June 2008

  5. […] Posted by Ms. Four on 13 August 2008 My summer reading (of which there was little, unfortunately) centered on Peter Godwin’s memoir Mukiwa: A White Boy in Africa. I resisted this book because I’m far more interested in black people in Africa, and, frankly, I have my own prejudices about white Africans. I didn’t want to read an account of some idyllic, naive white childhood. But I was finally motivated to read it because it was on my shelf and because of the Africa Reading Challenge. […]

    Pingback by Mukiwa by Peter Godwin « We Four in Egypt | 13 August 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

