We Four in Egypt

Now back in the US!

Dr. King

Last year about this time, I took Bug, then two years old, to the doctor. In January we had been to a fun and memorable Martin Luther King Jr. Day parade and had continued conversations about Dr. King. So, when I told Bug we’d see the doctor soon, he asked, “Dr. King?”

The nurse, a black woman, and I both smiled. No, not Dr. King.

The past few days, especially since I’ve been reading the comments on the Why are we here? post, I’ve been thinking a lot about racism. Racism manifests itself differently in different cultures and countries, but can we escape it anywhere? Of course I don’t have an answer for that.

Today is the 40th anniversary of the assassination of Dr. King. I remember when King’s birthday first became a holiday, but I’m too young to remember Dr. King himself. I do know that it’s incredible to think that my family wouldn’t have been possible then, in 1968.

4 April 2008 - Posted by | race

4 Comments

  1. Sorry, this is a question prompted by your Twitter notes (I tried Twitter for about 5 minutes last year, but I couldn’t get into it…)–is the puppy still chez vous? Does he have a name? 🙂

    Comment by Libby | 7 April 2008

  2. A puppy update is coming soon! Yes, he’s still with us.

    Comment by Ms. Four | 8 April 2008

  3. Ms. Four,

    Can you give us some thoughts on the protests?! I’ve been reading a few Egyptian blogs – which are great – but there’s really not much else in the form of news…darn U.S. media.

    Enjoy reading your blog from good ‘ole Washington, DC.

    Matt

    Comment by matt | 8 April 2008

  4. Matt, thanks for your comment. I’ll be posting about the strike soon.

    Comment by Ms. Four | 8 April 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

