We Four in Egypt

Now back in the US!

88 degrees in Cairo

Man is it hot here. We spent several hours in the pool today, and, being the first really hot, sunny day since last fall, I apparently forgot about my skin’s propensity to sunburn. So now I have a very dramatic shoulder sunburn, with two white stripes where the straps of my swimsuit protected a very small patch of skin.

The kids and Mr. Four are fine, of course.

My computer’s weather feature tells me it was 96 degrees here today. I believe it. It was so hot the heated pool felt cool. It’s almost 8pm and not much cooler, even though I’m sitting outside. We’re actually thinking about turning on the a/c.

Now, you may be thinking, “Of course it’s hot there! It’s Egypt!”

Except that less than two weeks ago I was bundled up for cold weather with a jacket and a sweater. And this is unusually warm, even for Egypt. It seems we’ve skipped over spring, though Egyptians tell me it’ll get cool again. Of course, in March, we also have sandstorms to look forward to. Apparently the whole sky will turn yellow and people will walk around with shawls and scarves over their mouths so they can breathe. Fun!

And now, a few blogs for your reading pleasure.

Lulu’s Bay in Cairo is a fantastic expat blog. I like to pretend that if I were the trailing spouse, I could have a blog like this, full of good photos, excellent wit, and frequent posts. But who am I kidding? Anyway, Lulu is worth a read. She’s only been here a few months but she knows her way around this place way better than I do. And she’s smart and funny. Hmm. I should add her to my blogroll.

Next, check out Cindy’s blog about the car mafia. I figured the title was hyperbolic til I read the actual post. Whoa.

Finally, check out the very funny and hits-close-to-home blog Stuff White People Like. But only if you appreciate the kind of humor you get from The Onion.

7 March 2008 - Posted by | fun, our life in egypt

3 Comments

  1. Wow – such nice words! Thanks. I am a shocking lurker – have so many blogs that I like to keep on my reader.. Thought I better leave a comment. cheers LULU

    Comment by Lynda | 8 March 2008

  2. Sunburn? Swimming?? The 96 degree temperature sounds quite nice – to me. Ms. Muddy Paws is up to her belly in snow, a car just missed the curve on my street and made a complete circle before continuing on, most scheduled events are cancelled. Here’s the forecast for upstate New York to help you cool down:

    Today: Periods of snow, sleet or freezing rain. Windy. High 28F. Winds NNE at 20 to 30 mph. About one inch of snow expected. (NOTE: This is on top of the 6 inches that arrived last night)

    Tonight: Snow along with gusty winds at times. Low 18F. Winds NW at 25 to 35 mph. Chance of snow 80%. Snow accumulating 5 to 8 inches.
    Tomorrow: Blustery with snow showers. Cold. High 23F. Winds W at 20 to 30 mph. Chance of snow 40%. Snow accumulations less than one inch.
    Tomorrow night: Partly cloudy. Low around 15F.

    Comment by mom | 8 March 2008

  3. Mom, it’s already cooled down here a bit. Now it’s perfect, maybe in the 60s. Though the guards are working are wearing heavy winter coats.

    Also, you could warm up by coming to visit…

    Comment by Ms. Four | 10 March 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

