We Four in Egypt

Now back in the US!

Back to work…

I went back to work today after almost three weeks off. Tomorrow, Monday, is the eastern Christmas (recognized here because of Coptic Christians but relevant in our household because it’s also the Ethiopian Orthodox Christmas), so I have tomorrow off. Then I go back to work on Tuesday. Then, I have Wednesday off for the Islamic New Year. Then I go back to work on Thursday.

Are you following this? To explain it more simply: I am working only three days this week. The multiplicity of holidays is certainly a highlight of working internationally.

To celebrate the eastern Christmas tomorrow, we are going to the mall. That doesn’t make any sense, I know. Let me explain: there’s a huge mall here in Cairo called City Star, and it has a big movie theater, lots of restaurants, lots of shops (of course), and a great kiddie playland. We tried to go there during Ramadan but it was closed at iftar. This particular trip was inspired by a few recent comments we’ve heard about a great Mexican restaurant at City Star. You can get just about any kind of food in Cairo, but it’s hard to come by Mexican. So we’re going to the mall for the playground and Mexican restaurant. We’d go to a movie but I don’t think Bug is ready for a full-length feature. When the TV is on (drat, I’ve gone and mentioned the TV again!), he usually doesn’t watch more than a few minutes at a time.

The mall is super busy, I’ve heard, on weekends and evenings, so it makes sense to go on a holiday that’s not a holiday for most Egyptians. Or at least I don’t think it is.

So that’s tomorrow.

It was nice to be back at work today, nice in that way when you get a lot done because no one else is around. And because no one has been around, there wasn’t too much piled up. Many of my colleagues are still on holiday.

In between work tasks, I found myself thinking an awful lot about New Hampshire. I am very eager to hear about the results of the primary.

So that’s the latest from Cairo. Soon, soon, I promise, the photos from Alex.

6 January 2008 - Posted by | food, holidays, our life in egypt

1 Comment

  1. […] by Ms. Four on 24 February 2008 So back in January, we spent a half day at the local mega mall, called City […]

    Pingback by The mall « We Four in Egypt | 24 February 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

