We Four in Egypt

Now back in the US!

And now back to our regularly scheduled blog.

Phew. I finished up NaNoWriMo: 50,000 words in (less than) one month. Man did it kick my behind. My poor kids barely recognize me, and Mr. Four was losing patience, too, even though he served as an excellent technical advisor and idea generator.

My novel (and I use that term lightly) is about a young woman who goes to work for an outdoor recreation company soon after college. It’s actually a lot less autobiographical than it might sound to folks who know me. For example, this young woman has red hair. (Har har.)

Right now I’m waiting for the little counting robots to count up my words and declare me a winner. I don’t feel like a winner. Mostly I feel tired. But, I am so glad I did this. I’ve had stories floating around in my head for years, and it’s great to write them, finally. And this is the kind of thing I’d usually start and then bale on, or think about and never do, so, wow, I guess I am proud of myself.

Eleanor Roosevelt said, “You must do the thing you think you cannot do.” Thanks to you Eleanor, and to my Scrabulous partners, who kept me awake late at night, I did what I thought I could not do.

And now I’m going to turn off the computer, go to bed, and sleep.

26 November 2007 - Posted by | this blog

7 Comments

  1. What a wonderful accomplishment! Congrats.

    Comment by Friend in Carrboro | 26 November 2007

  2. Can’t wait to read it! Phew! What an accomplishment – congratulations!

    Comment by Mom | 27 November 2007

  3. A great accomplishment! Good for you to stick to it.

    Comment by Julie | 27 November 2007

  4. Yeah! Great job! I can’t wait to read about the life and times of an outdoor river girl. 🙂 Next you can publish it with Lulu, and you will be on your way to being a famous author!

    Comment by Robin | 27 November 2007

  5. Thanks, all! Now that I’ve had had two solid nights of sleep, I have a better appreciation for what I’ve just accomplished. I should clarify that what I haven’t is a very messy first draft. So it’s not reading for reading by the masses. (The NaNoWriMo line on this is that “December is National Novel Editing Month,” ha ha.)

    Also, I love that the NaNoWriMo word counter counted 50,001 words. My word processor’s count was a bit higher, but 50,000 + 1 feels perfect.

    Comment by egypt4 | 28 November 2007

  6. What do you mean ?

    Comment by music | 31 January 2008

  7. […] November (11/20) So, you know that novel-ish thing I wrote last November? This summer, I re-read a few chunks of it. Uck! Ugh! […]

    Pingback by Last November (11/20) « We Four in Egypt | 20 November 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

