We Four in Egypt

Now back in the US!

The Cardboard Artist

Last year we had a great Halloween, and Bug was adorable in his internet-provisioned pirate costume. I had had grand visions of a homemade Pooh outfit but failed in my efforts to find a hooded sweatshirt in his size in either yellow, orange, or white. Eh, the pirate costume was probably cuter than anything I could have cobbled together.

The highlight, though, was the Halloween festival at the local town commons. All the volunteers had great costumes, and they had amazing games. And there wasn’t one lick of candy, so poor Bug didn’t even know what he was missing! Heh. Mr. Four and I were also inspired to dress as pirates, so it was a grand family outing.

Fast forward to this year, when we thought the only Halloween celebration would be the one at the boys’ school on November 1. And, since the boys don’t even know about Halloween (Bug is too young to remember, and Giggle lived in Ethiopia til this summer), it seemed like it might pass without much fanfare.

Then, last week, a friend and colleague mentioned that the local PreK-12 American school has a “wicked” (guess where she’s from) Halloween party. She also said that the costumes are so great, you feel sorry for the kids in the store-bought ones. Hmmm. That got me thinking. Luckily, we have a man of action in the household.

So, take one handy man, bring him to a new country and give him some extra time, and then add in an upcoming holiday from home, and this is what you get: costume nirvana.

I came up with a rough idea for costumes (we explained Halloween to Giggle, but I don’t know how we ever would have explained choosing a costume), and Mr. Four ran with it. And, seriously folks, he’s an artist.

Right now we have a bunch of glued cardboard spread out around our bedroom floor. I’ll reveal the final costumes once they’re, well, final.

This time of year also reminds me of my father’s 10% policy when we were kids. He insisted that he gwt a 10% cut of our candy at Halloween and Easter. Truth be told, he probably ate a LOT more than that. I know that now because I am a parent with a sweet tooth just like his, and there’s no way I’ll be able to resist all that chocolate. Plus add in a dash of rationalization (“it’s not even good for them!”), and the kids end up losing a lot more than 10%. Hurray for family traditions!

This Friday night is the big Halloween party that will feature, yes, candy! The boys really have no idea just how exciting it will be.

22 October 2007 - Posted by | bug, giggle, holidays

4 Comments

  1. Oooh. I am very interested in that 10% policy. Plus, I believe their should be an additional service charge for costume creation and child schlumping. I think 40% sounds reasonable and not at all overkill. 🙂

    Comment by sackrosanct | 22 October 2007

  2. […] only for the kernel of an idea (”Hey, maybe the boys can be trains”). Mr. Four found great inspiration in some cardboard and […]

    Pingback by Happy Halloween! « We Four in Egypt | 31 October 2007

  3. hi im an american living in egypt for almost 3 years. I would like to connect with other americans. does anyone know if there will be a us embassy halloween party this year? i have not met any americans since ive been here. im in maadi. someone plz email me lol

    Comment by layla | 25 October 2008

  4. Layla, I don’t think the Embassy has a Halloween party. Or if they do, I haven’t heard mention of it. The only Halloween stuff I know of is directed a younger kids. Sorry not to be of more help.

    Comment by Ms. Four | 25 October 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

