We Four in Egypt

Now back in the US!

Mr. Four speaks

So, Mr. Four, how do you like Egypt?

Well there are parts I really like and parts I don’t like so much. I like the history and the culture that goes back thousands of years. I like visiting historic sites. I like the people who live here, who seem to be really friendly and not concerned that I’m a westerner or Christian. I like the expats who seem to be open and willing to take on new friends easily.

I don’t like the pollution, the black dust that settles on our porch that I know I’m breathing. I don’t like the congestion of the big city. Or the lack of open parkland.

Are you glad you came?

Yeah, I’m glad I’m here. But I think I’ll be glad to go home in two years.

How are you spending your days?

The early morning is spent getting the boys off to school. From early afternoon to evening I spend with the boys. And in between I do household chores, straighten up, and run around town.

What’s been the biggest surprise?

The amount of English that’s spoken around here.

How are the boys doing?

Fine. I think the boys are doing well. They’ve adapted well to school but sometimes they get stir crazy in the apartment. Again I wish there was more open space available to them, though our new membership to (a local club) will provide some filler for that.

8 October 2007 - Posted by | our life in egypt

5 Comments

  1. Aha, Mr. Four, so nice to hear you through the blog. Sorry I missed the opportunity to pose questions, and I am glad you charged full-steam ahead anyway! Sunny sends her love to you all.

    Comment by Jen | 9 October 2007

  2. Aw, Sunny: give her a pat on the head from all of us.

    Comment by egypt4 | 9 October 2007

  3. I’m glad you don’t miss your truck – we love it!!

    Comment by ms. muddy paws | 9 October 2007

  4. So nice to hear from you, Ms Muddy Paws!

    Other readers may be interested to know that in my family, our pets send mail, give presents, and, apparently, post to blogs.

    Comment by egypt4 | 10 October 2007

  5. So nice to hear from you, Ms Muddy Paws!

    Other readers may be interested to know that in my family, our pets send mail, give presents, and, apparently, post to blogs.

    Comment by egypt4 | 10 October 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

