We Four in Egypt

Now back in the US!

We’re so popular

Not really, but we are making friends. Or at least people are being nice to us.

Mr. Four was invited to play golf last week with a stay-at-home dad at his country club. It was still pretty pricey, even with a discount, but Mr. Four had a good time. You’ll have to ask him to comment on the golfing. Oh, wait, I just did. He said, “It was good” and “it was nice.” So there you go.

Also, I was invited to lunch by a nice American woman colleague.

Plus we had another playdate with our friends with the daughter who is also from Ethiopia. The boys really like her. They even gave her kisses and hugs when we said goodbye. And she cried when she realized we weren’t going with her! How sweet (except for the part where she was sad).

And-because there’s more!-we were all invited to dinner on Friday night! I don’t want to go into details, but the people we visited have a certain access to a massive quantity of American goods. I walked into their apartment and felt like I stepped through a worm hole back to the US. I practically swooned at the sight of Breyer’s ice cream. They had candy corn! And Hershey’s kisses! It all seemed so incredibly normal.

The best part is that they liked us! So maybe we’ll be invited back.

The worst part is that now I’m homesick. A very wise friend (ha, really I’m talking about one of three people total when I say “friend in Cairo”) said it was a very dangerous time to visit the other friend’s house. I was just starting to forget about some of the comforts of home.

Ah well. The brownies, French vanilla ice cream, and warm hot fudge were so worth it.

23 September 2007 - Posted by | family, fun

4 Comments

  1. Use those kid connections all you can. As a single expat it’s tough (!) to make friends.

    And can’t you get commissary privileges? I guess it’s decided embassy by embassy but you should try. It worked for me here in Ethiopia.

    Comment by Marc | 25 September 2007

  2. Marc, we don’t have commissary privileges here in Cairo, yet another reason I’m jealous of you in Addis!

    The embassy here is huge (the biggest US embassy anywhere except Iraq), but the issue might be that there are something like 100,000 expats in Egypt. I don’t know if that’s American expats or everyone, but it might be too many.

    We also can’t join the embassy’s private club here (except when they’re really desperate for money/new members), which has a great pool and clubhouse.

    Comment by egypt4 | 25 September 2007

  3. Marc, we don’t have commissary privileges here in Cairo, yet another reason I’m jealous of you in Addis!

    The embassy here is huge (the biggest US embassy anywhere except Iraq), but the issue might be that there are something like 100,000 expats in Egypt. I don’t know if that’s American expats or everyone, but it might be too many.

    We also can’t join the embassy’s private club here (except when they’re really desperate for money/new members), which has a great pool and clubhouse.

    Comment by egypt4 | 25 September 2007

  4. But Americans I think still are the most privileged expats to live in Egypt. The US of A may be thousands of miles away, but even when I just step into Miriam’s supermarket in Maadi, I feel like I’ve been transported to the States! Unfortunately, we Malaysians can hardly consider ourselves as lucky .. which is why I so look forward to my trips home, sobs (at least for the food and the rain, if nothing else). 🙂

    Comment by Blabarella | 26 September 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

