We Four in Egypt

Now back in the US!

Mummy tummy

You may know it as La Turista or Montezuma’s Revenge, at least when you’re in Mexico. Mr. Four and I like Pharoah’s Revenge or even the more dramatic Phraonic Revenge. But mummy tummy (so they call it here, that, and “Welcome to Egypt”) is what I’ve got.

I called in sick on my THIRD day of work at my new job. That’s gotta be some kind of record.

I hasten to add that I’m actually really sick! I even have a fever. I know because I checked before I called in to reassure myself that I wasn’t faking it. Which I’m not.

4 September 2007 - Posted by | sicknesses

2 Comments

  1. When I first moved to Addis Ababa, I got sick (a littie or a lot) every two-three weeks. I guess my system has gotten used to the bugs. I’m not *nearly* as careful as I should be with what I eat any more, and I almost never get sick to my stomach. So, as with most things in your adopted country, you’ll get used to it.

    Comment by Marc | 4 September 2007

  2. Marc, thanks for the encouragement. I’m hearing the same things from my colleagues at work.

    The thing is that at first we weren’t being careful at all–and then we ratched down a bit after some warnings.

    So maybe we had it right in the first place.

    I’m feeling MUCH better today.

    Comment by egypt4 | 5 September 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

