We Four in Egypt

Now back in the US!

Hey, it’s not terrible here!

We made it!

And I’m surprised and delighted to say it’s much better than I expected. I will now confess that at times I have been worried, secretly, that this whole move was going to be a total disaster for my kids, for my husband, and especially for my marriage.

But it’s quite the opposite–we’re doing great! It’s actually nice here!

My employer’s representative met us at the airport and breezed us through customs (they didn’t even look at the cat), drove us home, gave us some cash, and made sure the apartment was stocked and ready. The apartment itself is lovely, spacious and light, in a great location and with plenty of comfortable furniture. The day after we arrived, a colleague picked us up, gave us a tour of town, and drove us to a super center-type store where we bought some basic appliances and groceries.

Now we’re recovering from jet lag, unpacking, exploring the neighborhood, figuring out what we still need, and feeling silly for not learning even a few key phrases in Egyptian Arabic before we got here.

Yesterday I took a taxi ALL BY MYSELF to downtown. The taxi dropped me off in the wrong place and I figured out where to go. And today I took the metro ALONE back downtown again. Whoa.

Mind you, these are everyday activities for city folk, but not for me. As I walked the streets of Cairo, completely conspicuous (my dark blond, uncovered hair doesn’t really blend in with the locals), I thought, “Hey this is a lot less scary than paddling the Tellico!” (I was a semi-proficient kayaker back in the day.) I am adult person with children, but I still felt proud of myself for handling all this navigation without stress.

Maybe being conspicuous makes it easier–since I don’t fit in, I don’t have to worry about looking like I don’t know where I’m going. (Will mull over and post more on this later.)

We don’t have consistent internet access yet, but please check back soon for more updates.

14 August 2007 - Posted by | our life in egypt

7 Comments

  1. Yay! I’m glad everything is so awesome!

    Comment by Alicia | 14 August 2007

  2. Yippee! Aisha told me about the RDU delay. I’m glad the rest is over and that you’ve arrived safely. I’m looking forward to reading more about your adventure. I didn’t know Cairo had a subway. And you mentioned your uncovered head – do most women wear head coverage?

    Comment by Jean | 14 August 2007

  3. Cool! Glad to hear you arrived safely.

    Comment by Angela | 14 August 2007

  4. how wonderful to read! great to see you are doing well! please give our hellos all around. we’re thinking of you often.

    Comment by leimabean | 14 August 2007

  5. I’m so glad you all made it safely, and more easily than you’d hoped! Can’t wait to read about more adventures! 🙂

    Comment by Erin | 15 August 2007

  6. Glad to hear that you have all made it safely and that it is better then you expected. How often does that happen?! We look forward to hearing all about your adventures!
    Hugs to you all.
    ~Robin and the gang

    Comment by robin | 15 August 2007

  7. Hey, all, thanks for following the blog and for commenting. It’s lovely to know you all are thinking of us.

    Jean, to answer your question: indeed Cairo has a metro (not a subway, technically, except for a few spots). One of the guide books called it the “envy” of Londoners and New Yorkers because it’s clean, safe, and efficient. The front car is for women only.

    Most women seem to be covered in downtown, but not so much in the area where we live.

    These questions are worthy of an entire entry! So more on all of this later.

    Comment by egypt4 | 15 August 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

