We Four in Egypt

Now back in the US!

Good kids and green grass

My long-time readers may recall vague references to my flight from Cairo to JFK last summer, a flight so terrible I actually decided not to blog about so as not to think about it anymore.

Early on Friday morning (in the US; it was Friday afternoon in Cairo), after about 14 hours of traveling, I told the friendly, helpful flight attendant that I appreciated her friendliness and helpfulness (after last year, I always make a point of thanking good flight attendants). “It was my pleasure,” she said. “Your kids have been great. It’s always a pleasure to work with kids with good manners.”

That was nice, though I didn’t think much of it until we were leaving the plane (we were about the last out), when another filght attendant started gushing about Giggle. “He’s going to be famous someday,” he said. “He’s so smart and he is so well-mannered. American kids just don’t seem to have good manners, but he does.”

I looked around for Ashton Kutcher and the hidden cameras. Then I passed out from shock.

My kids were good on the plane, mostly because we left in the middle of the night and they slept much of the way, and because Mr. Four was with us this year, and because I prepared better plane activities for them.

Still, it’s nice to hear. I adore my kids, but they can be a little crazy at times. And after last year’s flight, which included perhaps the lowest moment of my life, when I cried while arguing with the flight attendant, while Bug cried and wept for me to read him a book, well, let me just say this: what a difference a year makes.

Mr. Puppy did surprisingly well too. He didn’t exactly enjoy the flight, but aside from a huge puddle of pee he left in JFK (which we cleaned up–and, really, where else was he supposed to go after flying for 13 hours?), he behaved perfectly. And he’s been his charming sweet since then as well.

We’re having a great visit with Mr. Four’s family. They are great with the kids, pretty low key but also interested in what they’re saying, and the kids have warmed up to them quickly. Because of a graduation party, we visited today with a bunch of Mr. Four’s old friends, and tomorrow we have a big family picnic at my brother-in-law’s house.

We also managed to squeeze in a visit to Old Navy and Target, to catch up on our big-box shopping.

Plus it’s been raining quite a bit lately, and we are surrounded by green: green grass, green hills, green trees. It’s gorgeous.

You might be able to tell from this post that my eyes are drooping. More later, when I can remember how to spell.

14 June 2009 - Posted by | family, holidays, home, pets

5 Comments

  1. Jack’s taken about 10 flights so far.. and only 1 of them was terrible. But, to reassure you, it was really terrible.. and ended with both Jack and I in tears! He was so tired and cross and confused he completely ‘lost it’..and I was so tired and cross and confused that, well, I did too!
    Here’s to good flights and great kids, :-)
    hugs,
    Robyn

    Comment by Robyn | 14 June 2009

  2. Thanks, Robyn. You’re right–of all the flights these boys have taken (including 14 hour flights from Ethiopia to the US just a few days after meeting us), only one was really bad. But the memory lingers.

    Comment by Ms. Four | 14 June 2009

  3. Congratulations on a good flight! Have a lovely vacation!

    Comment by Libby | 15 June 2009

  4. Welcome back. Glad this flight was nothing like last year’s.

    Comment by paige | 15 June 2009

  5. Welcome! We were blessed with awesome flights into DC and I actually SLEPT on the plane. I have never done that before, but I was so tired. I managed to pry my eyes open enough, here and there, to see our 6yo asking politely for more water, or, could she have the omelet please, then I’d crash back asleep. We are enjoying the rain and green green greenery too! You’re ahead of me though. We landed Thursday and I haven’t blogged yet :D

    Comment by Connie | 15 June 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

